Welcome to the SAMTRAC Blog

ISO 45001 has been published

[fa icon="calendar"] 3/14/18 11:07 AM / by SAMTRAC



ISO 45001: 2018, the international standard for Occupational health and safety management systems – Requirements with guidance for use was published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) on the 10th of March, 2018.

It is the first international standard for occupational health and safety (OHS) from ISO. It was developed to provide guidance and to help organisations improve work safety and occupational health in the workplace (from head office to satellite operations), thus reducing workplace injuries and diseases. The new standard also took cognisance of, and includes, the International Labour Organization’s (ILO) OSH standards, guidelines and conventions (ILSs). 

ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001, the former workplace health and safety system commonly followed in the absence of an ISO standard. Organisations already certified to the requirements of OHSAS 18001: 2007 will have three years from now to comply with the new ISO 45001 standard.

ISO 45001 provides organisations and other affected stakeholders with usable guidance for improving worker safety by means of an easy-to-use framework, aligned with Annex SL (developed to standardise the layout of standards). According to ISO, this is perhaps the biggest difference between the old and the new standard and will be used for all future management system standards.

Via the new structure, ISO 45001 is designed to integrate with other management systems’ standards, to achieve a high level of compatibility with the new versions of QMS/EMS, which are already in place (and which have already been implemented).

The new OHS standard is based on the common Annex SL elements, and still uses the simple Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) model. This provides a risk management framework for organisations to minimise the risk of harm to employees, visitors, contractors and other affected parties, with regard to long-term health issues, absence from work, as well as those occurrences that give rise to accidents.

Remember: The certification of conformity to ISO 45001 is not a requirement of the standard.

The NOSA Five Star Systems and the new ISO 45001 Standard

The current versions of the NOSA Five Star Systems are aligned with OHSAS 18001: 2007 and ISO 14001: 2004. However, these will be amended to ensure all requirements (as per the new ISO  14001: 2015 and ISO 45001: 2018), are covered and/or included. What’s more, a large number of the NOSA minimum element requirements in our current systems are already addressing or exceeding the new requirements.

By using the NOSA integrated Five Star System, industry guidelines and associated tools, any organisation will be able to implement a tailor-made, risk-based OHS/EMS or integrated risk management system. This will prevent and reduce OHS/HSE incidents, which can be certified and/or graded via NOSA audits. Depending on a client’s requirements, a single, duel audit outcome is also possible, saving both time and costs.

For further information, please contact Johan M Rheeder, NOSA Technical Manager Auditing, johan.rheeder@nosa.co.za or +27 (0)833240598

Image reproduced courtesy of HSEWatch.com. 

Topics: ISO, ISO 45001



SAMTRAC International is the leading occupational health, safety and environment (HSE) management e-learning training course that provides students with the foundational and fundamental knowledge critical to occupational HSE management.

subscribe to our blog
Download the SAMTRAC Mining glossary

Lists by Topic

see all